Vision Statement

To become the first choice financial institution for the community we serve.

Core Values

Good Governance
Member Focused

Mission Statement

To enhance the quality of life of our members and of the entire community, by providing superior quality financial services to them through a well trained staff and the utilization of appropriate technology.

The Foundation

The Communal Co-operative Credit Union was founded in 1964, and registered as a financial co-operative in 1965 with assets of five hundred dollars ($500.00) and a membership of 100 persons.Its aim is to provide an avenue to receive member's savings and make loans to them for provident and productive purposes at reasonable rates of interest.

Its first registered name was St. George’s Communal Co-operative Credit Union Limited. As this original name implies, the credit union was opened solely to persons in St. George’s. At that time, the Credit Union operated from a small office on Church Street.

Its St. George’s bond was later opened to persons from other parishes, but who lived or worked in St. George’s. A few years later, the bond was further extended to persons in Carriacou and Petit Martinique, and the Credit Union changed its name to the “The Communal Co-operative Credit Union Ltd.”

Some of the founding members were Mr. Rodney V. Mauricette, Mr. Eric Padmore, Mr. Albert La Touche, Miss Cynthia Steele, Mr. Martin Abraham, Miss Kathleen A. Nedd, Mr. Joslyn Hayling,Mr. Henry Scoon, Mr. Winston Whyte, Mr. Cosmos Cape, Ms. Cynthia Thomas, Mr. Lennard George, Ms. Ruby Benoit and Mr. Nelson Francis.

At the first Annual General Meeting, Mr. Mauricette, Mr. Padmore and Mrs. Steele were elected to serve on the Board of Directors. Mr. Rodney V. Mauricette was chosen President of The Communal at the first Board of Directors meeting, a position he held until 1993.


Past Presidents

  • Mr. Rodney Mauricette 1965 - 1993
  • Dr Guido Marcelle 1993 – 1996
  • Mr. Edwin Thomas 1996 - 1999
  • Mr. L. Simeon Collins 1999 - 2002
  • Miss Lydia Courtney 2002 – 2004
  • Mr. Julien Ogilvie 2004 -2009
  • Mr. Isaac Bhagwan 2009 - 2012
  • Mr. Michael Francois 2012 - 2015
  • Dr. Wayne Sandiford 2016-2017 
  • Ms. Claudia Alexis 2017 - 2018
  • Mr. Justino Jacob 2018 until present


Profile of the Founder

Mr. Rodney Vincent Mauricette, a native of St. Lucia came to Grenada during the period of the Second World War, as part of a troop to be stationed for a short time on the Island. Following that stint, he returned to St. Lucia. Having developed an ardent admiration for the spice isle, he decided to return to Grenada, to take up residence.

He was a Barber by trade, but was also a photographer, who managed a Photo Studio during his early years here. He later decided to pick up the trade he learnt from his uncle, who operated a barber shop in St. Lucia. It was during his barbering here that he came in contact with Mr. F. M. Coard, who introduced him to the Credit Union philosophy, and the workings of that movement. Mr. Mauricette, together with a few other interested persons, started reviewing the rules that governed the operations of the credit union.

As a result of the interest generated by himself and his colleagues, the St. George’s Communal Co-operative Credit Union was founded in 1964. Upon registration of the Credit Union on October 19,1965, there were just about one hundred (100) members, with assets of approximately five hundred dollars ($500). When the first Annual General Meeting was held, Rodney V Mauricette was elected to sit on its first Board of Directors. He was then elected president by the other elected members of the Board. He was nominated to the Board for another twenty-eight years in succession and each year for those twenty eight years was elected President. He served the Communal Co-operative Credit Union selflessly and with unstintingly. He retired from active participation in the Credit Union activities in 1988. 

The Communal’s scholarship program was named after him and is known as the Rodney Mauricette Memorial Scholarship Program.

© 2017 The Communal. All Rights Reserved. Designed by Enable